troubling thoughts [easter special]

Or [holy week special] whichever.

Captain’s Log [Stardate: 95846.32] (April 1, 2018 – 0312 hrs)

This is just basically a mind dump for my never-ending thoughts that won’t cease to bother me endlessly and will never let me rest. Today it is our last day in the hotel me and my family are staying in in Cebu. It’s already 05:24, Easter Sunday as I am typing this down and the sky has just turned an odd shade of indigo. I’ve stalled on for long enough as I already figured that I would never be able to keep my promise of constantly physically manifesting my thoughts in the form of words and therefore piling up my drafts into 15 unwritten topics that I probably might have already forgotten about internally.

Anyways, it’s the final day of Holy Week here where is apparently when Jesus Christ has risen from the dead which also correlates to a rabbit looking for eggs with treasures in them? I could never understand the correlation but I never bothered looking up the reason why. This has already been the third time that I have spent a holiday with my family at my favorite hotel. The last time being last Christmas and another time which I can’t exactly recall. Which is odd why I couldn’t since that was the first time we checked in here. I’m sure I can find out once I dig through my unorganized vlog snippets from that time that I have yet to organize.

Okay, so let me put my thoughts in order. We arrived here last Monday –or Wednesday?, yeah– which was on the 26th 28th. We arrived at my dad’s quarters in the camp at the evening and went right on to sleep. Morning come and apparently, I’ve been told that we’ll spend the rest of our very quick time here in Cebu at my favorite hotel. I love it here at the hotel because it’s cozy and has great window views. [will add pictures next time so check back in a week]

—pfft, as if anyone even reads these—

Anyways, I left Manila on vacation knowing fully well that I still have something to send over to my supervisor at the place where I work my unpaid internship at. I’m barely halfway finished but I never miss a holiday with my family and as much as i’d like to spend a week alone in the house with just me and the internet, the adventures must come first for me or else it wouldn’t feel like a life well lived and all that crap. The task bestowed upon me was also quote-on-quote “important but not urgent” yet I was told that he needed it in the middle of last week if possible. And of course I wanted to keep a clean track record on my first “somewhat” job so I told him that I would get it done by the middle of last week which I may or may not have followed since I sent it to him just a few hours ago at 00:15 today. The workplace and people there are usually really chill with the deadlines but I didn’t want to be a hurdle into their otherwise rising urgency to get their big event prepared and complete. Since you know, we’re gonna have one of those in 2 months and imma write about it once it’s happened already.

So yeah, I called in telling him that I wouldn’t be able to show up at work for Monday and Tuesday since Wednesday-onwards is usually when the workplaces close up for the rest of the week because holidays~. Knowing the nice guy that he is, he was like “okay, have a nice week!” and I was pretty relieved and it didn’t surprise me either but I still had to keep my observing disposition. He’s really kind but he can be snarky when he wants to be, pfft. Enough about him. As I was saying, so as soon as we got to my dad’s quarters that Wednesday evening, I immediately pulled out my laptop and started getting to it. My dad’s quarters has internet so I was thankful for that.

Whenever i’m on vacation to a new place or somewhere I scarcely go to in which I might not know whether it would be my last stay in it or not, I usually tend to drop my gadgets and soak it all in, or at least try to. I usually remember and internally marvel at places best when there are only memories left and not when I actually see them. Hence, the birth of my sideline lifestyle vlogging hobby which is of course, like all the things I try so hard to commit to, unintentionally half-assed, mostly because of my tendency to procrastinate which I will always keep mentioning in all of my entries. Every minute, you’ll see me pull my camera up to film something for a few seconds and that’s when you know that i’m filming something that I want to remember but won’t be fully able to so I use the camera, my DSLR.

Tuesday came in and we headed off to the hotel, yay. It’s as how I remember it with the addition of an artificial Easter garden at the middle of the lobby with the giant eggs and such. We had lunch at the hotel restaurant first before heading up to our rooms which is always mom, dad, and my baby brother in the single queen room and me and my siblings in the double twin with an extra bed. As per usual, I took my spot on the desk with the mirror in front and quickly fixed my set-up and the first thing I did was get to work. Aside from the meals and going out to visit the sights in the city, when I was in the hotel, the only thing I mostly did was face my laptop and research away and not go out wandering along with my camera. This is the first time i’ve ever experienced spending a vacation working and I feel really bad but it’s repressed. Sometimes I take a few seconds to stop and look at the view from outside the window and it never fails to take my breath away. After that, back to work again. We were only supposed to stay for two nights but my dad got us extended for a third and rather than spend it freely, I spent it trying to finish up so badly because they need this, my workplace needs my work and they’re counting on me and we have a big event and I can’t let them down. That’s what was running through my mind and motivating me to finish up already.

I didn’t let that consume the whole duration of my stay here though. I spent some of it swimming at the pool, watching the live band at night, enjoy my nice, comfy, warm bed and even just take a long break to watch Youtube videos  and catch up on Toku because hell no i’m consuming all of my time here working, nu uh. But as it went, it was almost the end of the week and I promised that i’d get it done by then. So I told myself that the faster I finish this, the remaining hours I would spend writing on this blog which is what I have been wanting to do since I left Manila for vaca week. Of course, I feel regretful. When has that feeling never cross me mind? I should have spent more time relaxing because I was also told by some of my co-workers that I should never ever work when i’m not at work. But they’re full-time while i’m not so I guess I have a different set of rules? I dunno. So I tried to balance it the best I could and I think I did a pretty sufficient job. I got half of it finished and gave it to my boss saying that i’d finish the rest sometime after. Of course, I was already sensible enough to not put a specific period of time because I can’t keep up with it now considering where i’m going next.

I still have so much to do as it is. I barely even finished transferring all of my media files to their respective cloud storages, disk drives, USBs, and vice versa. I also have to equip myself with a whole series to keep me company for the following week. I definitely would be able to finish downloading though but I hope I still have enough videos to keep me company. The original plan was, one week here in Cebu then one week in Cotabato. Cebu is a prime city like Manila and Davao so of course there’s internet everywhere. Cotabato however, is basically your run-of-the-mill countryside especially in my mom’s hometown. We visit Cebu because my dad’s assigned here, being an officer and all. As for Cotabato, we go there because that’s my mom’s hometown and she has businesses over there which are always chaotic as all businesses can be so she has to check up on it every once in a while and it just happened that we can come along this time. So I guess I have to call in absent for another week at my internship, which was honestly what I was hoping for but shh on that one. They can’t exactly refuse since I can’t just fly my way back home you know……

…er, well, actually I can. But hell, I want to visit grandma and grandpa and all my cousins in the countryside and Lord knows when the next opportunity would be that i’d be able to visit because i’m entering college next year so I probably wouldn’t be able to go with my fam on vacations anymore, so f*** all. I do give a f***, it’s just that this is more important to me as of the moment. And it’s not like i’d completely abandon my responsibilities back home. I just gotta check in every once in a while to see if i’m not fired. Pfft.

As I always have, I have so much more to say about that but the emotions faded so my memories faded with them. All I can say right now is that it’s already 06:18 and there’s a box of unfinished donuts beside me and an empty coffee cup that I don’t want to eat since it’s almost breakfast time and the buffet downstairs is always so hefty and I need room. I still have so much more to catch up on which are my unfinished drafts as well as the fictions i’ve been planning to write within my stay in the hotel since I love the ambiance this place gives me. Also this thing i’m doing with my OCs and story prompts but that’s another entry for another time, hopefully soon. I know that I have to finish this entry quick because I know that one of my parents will knock on the door any minute telling the first sibling awake, —which today, is me— to wake everyone else up and get ready for breakfast. It’s our last day of hotel goodness here too, did I mention for the nth time? And probably the last ever since my dad would probably get assigned somewhere else soon and we stay here in the hotel for free because of his privileges of being assigned here. So you get it. I mean, we could always pay for ourselves but still.

About the donuts by the way, my dad loves them so we get a box every night or so, and we got two dozens last night so I still have like, three donuts to have my way with but eh, just putting it out there just in case I forget one day that I once had a few donuts all to myself. Apart from the other days where I spent sleepless hours on work, I surprisingly don’t feel tired right now. Maybe because I took a 4-hour nap yesterday afternoon and drank two cups of coffee but I credit it to me writing an entry on my blog. My thoughts are being powered by my whirring mind so I can remember enough to write them down so I guess that’s keeping me awake.

Dang, I really, really need to finish everything now, or at least most of them. My drafts, I mean. Which I think i’ll be able to since there’s no internet at our next destination in this holy week escapade so i’m left only with my thoughts, my domesticated laptop, and reality. So as I slowly look up from my laptop looking into the mirror, looking like the main character from some laptop-involved movie, it’s also basically my silent vow to actually make something of my life ffs. Aside from the little family moments we had during this and talks about what the future holds, courtesy of my dad, I need to do something. Anything. To keep me away from leaning into my pessimistic nature. It’s hard having to possess both an optimistic and pessimistic viewpoint of every situation. That doesn’t make me bipolar, now does it? I mean it’s not two different personalities per se. But that’s not the point. Did I mention that i’ve found a new acquaintance in the form of Admiral Amott? Or I guess friend as I would like to think when I meet someone new. Just putting it out there.

Two words. Century Tuna.

Anyways, I guess that’s it for now. Aside from the complimentary Easter egg basket we just got on the way home from dinner yesterday evening, I guess there’s not much after that which I haven’t gotten on film. Right now, i’m just frozen. Trying to soak more things in and trying to write them all down, scared that I might forget it. I still honestly feel like I haven’t utilized my surroundings enough to memory but living in the present will have to do.

That will be all. I wish a wonderful week to anyone bored enough to read this ’till the end.

With best regards,

The Captain.

 

“Calming the chaos that exists within with the chaos that exists around.” -Jennie Souiade

 

 

Finished: [Stardate 95849.45] (April 1, 2018, 06:42 hrs)

a satisfying share with a marvelous finish.

writing music: COSMOS – Vol 1.

Leave a comment